Stone
1 min readJun 20, 2018

--

I have this delusion that I was meant to be a girl. Perhaps this was because I saw too many Korean mothers emotionally abused by men. My marriage counselor was dumbfounded by two Korean couples in crisis. She called a Korean psychologist to find out what makes Koreans so intractable. He simply said that culture is based on “Trauma”. This is true in my personal experience; like the Irish on the other side, both cultures have been historically been traumatized for their religion, their national identity, and treated less than human. The abuse continues in both cultures. Domestic abuse is rampant in both North and South Korea. The cultural genocide enacted by the Japanese imperialism still spreads its poison far into the future. Yes, we are still children of trauma and war. God bless.

Shanti.

--

--